India is well known for its culture and rich heritage. It is also a landmark for many historical wonders and monuments. According to the UNESCO, there are almost 36 world Heritage sites in India. Tourists all across the globe will appreciate these UNESCO sites. Some of the few examples of these sites are Kaziranga National Park, Qutub Minar, Taj Mahal, Khajuraho and many more. There are other sites as well which will be paid less attention.

Here is the list of top 5 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in India:

  1. Sun Temple:

Sun Temple was built by Narasimha Deva in the 13th Century. This temple is purely dedicated to the sun god. Because of its marvellous architecture, it is listed in the UNESCO World Heritage Sites. The structure of the temple resembles a huge chariot with wheels and horses.

The beautiful stone carvings and architecture skills in the temple will attract many visitors. Most of the parts in the temple were ruined but some parts of the temple like Dancing hall and Audience Hall attracts many visitors. On the walls of the temple, one can see the images of elephants, snakes, giraffes and mythological creatures.

  1. Hampi:

Hampi is located in Karnataka and is listed in the top 5 UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Here we can see the architecture of the Vijayanagara kingdom. We can understand the well-planned civilization of Vijayanagara architecture here. Hampi is located on Tungabhadra and the interesting thing is the total Vijayanagara empire was guarded by seven lines of fortifications.

Chandrashekar temple, Ganesa temple, Narasimha, Hazara Ramachandra temple and Pattabhi Rama temple are some of the famous temples in Hampi. Lotus Mahal Complex, Krishna temple complex and Achyutaraya temple complex are some of the famous complexes in Hampi.

  1. Taj Mahal:

Taj Mahal is located in the banks of river Yamuna and is listed in the 7 wonders of the world. Almost 8 million tourists will visit the Agra. In between 1631 to 1648, Shah Jahan built this marvellous architecture for his beautiful wife Mumtaz. Almost 20,000 people worked for the construction of this beautiful monument.

Taj Mahal is unique for its convex and concave reflection work, Quranic inscription, semi-precious stones and architecture styles. The main attraction of these architectural wonders is the colours change according to the light from sunrise to sunset. Not only architectural style but a beautiful garden, the holy mosques and holy surroundings make this monument to be listed in the UNESCO World Heritage Site.

  1. Ajanta and Ellora Caves:

Ajanta and Ellora caves are recognized by UNESCO World Heritage Site for securing the valuable art of Olden times. The main attraction of the caves of Ajanta is painting because these paintings are made of natural colours are correct using minerals and cave plants. Ajanta is a group of 30 cave that dates back from the 2nd century BC.

Each cave is special for different art, paintings, murals, ceilings, and temples. Ajanta cave dedicated to the development of the Buddha so that you can experience a touch of Buddhism in caves. Ellora caves located in Aurangabad and there are 34 caves dedicated to Buddhism, Jainism and Hinduism.

  1. Khajuraho Temples:

Khajuraho temples recognized by UNESCO World Heritage Site since wonders. According to architecture to ancient times, there were 85 temples but there are 20 temples only dedicated to a different god. Among them, 6 temples dedicated to Lord Shiva and his people, three temples dedicated to the Jain Tirthankaras, eight temples dedicated to Vishnu and his avatars. Finally, two temples dedicated to the Sun God and Lord Ganesha. famous temples of Khajuraho are Kandariya temple, Lakshmana temple, Vishwanath temple and Chitragupta temple.

If you are planning to visit India and then take the Palace on Wheels train which covers most famous destinations of Rajasthan.

Leave a comment